lime plastering plasterboard. with the correct tool and material it works well.

IMG_20160206_135124

This intriguing little tool I purchased from  Arford enterprises – www. Arfordenterprises.co.uk. it is manufactured for the rubber industry apparently

I bought it because I have had occasion to apply lime plaster to plasterboard. you will wonder how it applies to plasterboard and why use lime anyway? I explain what I bought it for below but to to answer the inevitable why not simply use gypsum:

a. I don’t like the stuff

b. I want a consistency of surface finish on all the walls, not just in appearance but in the paint used.

c. the simplicity of using one type of material.

So following the received wisdom I bought the recommended Baumit DG27  and primed the board and applied the plaster.

Then I got thinking whether my own special recipe lime finishing plaster would stick to the plasterboard without the DG27, which is, afterall pretty expensive, and I found it sticks very well indeed, and I am preparing a test which I will video and share with you all to demonstrate how well it sticks but being of a cautious nature I thought about applying some sort of key and came up with the idea of a spiked roller and after an internet search I have one.

As you can see below the key is quite discrete and narrow but it is quick to apply in a regular criss cross pattern and it raises the paper just enough to give an adequate key.

 

IMG_20160206_135246

The roller is not cheap and although they are available wider I thought the smallest width was ok to start with and if it does provide a good enough key – baring in mind my plaster seems to stick very well without primer or key – then I need not buy anymore primer for plasterboard.

The DG27 does have its uses elsewhere and the roller will not replace it entirely but for prepping plasterboard it looks just the business.

So if you do want or need to save money and use plasterboard instead of laths for stud walling then this tool and my own JBLime finishing plasters are what you should be using.

About byrnesurfaces

conserver and repairer of historic surfaces
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to lime plastering plasterboard. with the correct tool and material it works well.

  1. Pingback: Renovating old domestic plaster surfaces | byrnesurfaces

Leave a Reply

